What I believe as far as my spiritual practice

Hello my sweet sweet friends.  I’m sitting at my computer right now, with a candle burning, and thought that I would do a post that people have been asking me to do.

 Disclaimer: This is what I believe..I respect all beliefs and I don’t want any negative comments on here.  If there are negative comments, I will delete them because my blog is to encourage people, not to spread negativity around.  Thank you.

So if you would like to know more…keep reading……

holidays

As some of you may know, this year I took myself on a self awareness/self reflection journey.  It has been amazing and I can’t wait to continue it into the year of 2017.  In this time, I have learned a lot about myself, and one of them is about religion.  Now I am a Christian, I have been my whole life etc. I’m currently 27  and just this year 2016, I have realized what I really believe in. This is what I believe…my own personal belief, not taken from my parents or friends….just me.  One thing I have realized is that I’m more spiritual and faith based than religious.  And you might ask: ok what does that mean?  

Well, I believe in God, I believe he had a son who came to this earth and died on the cross for our sins.  I believe we all are sinners  and that our sins can be taken away by repenting and asking God for forgiveness. But going off from that, I also believe that faith has a huge part in believing that there is a God or a high power…however it is that  you choose to think of it.  One of my life verses is 2 Corinthians 5:7 which says “I will walk by faith, even when I can not see.”  This verse has meant so much to me and has played a huge part in my life as I have gotten older. I have gone through so much where I have needed faith in order to get through it.  I’ve needed to believe that God has a bigger plan for whatever has happened.  When I feel I have no idea what to do, I turn to God, and I turn to faith…I remember that faith can move mountains…Matthew 17:20 basically says “that if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, then you will tell this mountain to move, and it will move.”  In this specific verse, Jesus was trying to get the people to understand that you need to have faith in order to really believe that something can happen.  “For nothing is impossible with God” Luke 1:37.  So for me, I really believe that faith can truly make a huge difference in your life.  I’ve noticed it so much in my life, and that is the core of my belief. So then you might add…ok well what do you mean by spiritual?

I do yoga, and I practice meditation.  No where in the bible, as far as I know…it talks about yoga or meditation.  For me, yoga and meditation are a way to really focus into mindfulness

refer to: (https://itiswellwithmysoul741.wordpress.com/2016/09/08/be-quiet-and-learn-to-practice-mindfulness/)

 I have really bad anxiety especially driving, so for me it helps to calm my mind and my body so that I can do what I need to do for that day.  So all of this goes together for me because, I’m nurturing my soul with my faith in God, i’m nurturing my mind by practicing meditation and i’m nurturing my body by practicing yoga.  This for me is a spiritual practice; I do this most days…I work nights so I do this once I get home and settled…so I get up/home and get coffee, do my devotions, and prayer for that day to nurture my soul, I then meditate to nurture my mind and I then do a 5-10 minute yoga flow to nurture my body. So this my spiritual practice and what I believe.

If you like this, comment, share and follow…and let me know if you would like to see more posts like this.  I respect all beliefs, so if you belief something different, it’s ok with me…you do you 🙂  

I encourage you all to explore what you believe whether that be in crystals or reincarnation or God or whatever…explore for yourself…by yourself…not for others or because of what someone else believes or because of the way you were brought up.  You are an individual and you are allowed to believe or practice whatever you feel comfortable with…and that I feel is so beautiful and precious about religion or spirituality…there’s no right or wrong way…there’s just you and your belief and what you need to nurture your soul, mind and body.  No one can take that away from you no matter how hard they try.

 

20 thoughts on “What I believe as far as my spiritual practice

    • Thank you…I thought a lot about this post before I put it on here and it’s what I really believe. I feel that everyone should explore who they are and what they believe because it can help shape the person that you become. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I was hoping that people would see that. It can be hard to translate how someone feels through their writing but I’m very glad that you could tell how honest and true I was.

      Like

  1. I enjoyed this post! I always love it when someone can share what they believe without pushing their beliefs off onto the other person as the “right way.” That drives me crazy. I believe what I want and I respect everyone else’s ability to do the same. Personally, I grew up with atheist parents, so the concept of God was very foreign to me. I had no beliefs until I was well into my 30s. Seeing the miracles that are my three children really made me stop and think about what I did believe in. I don’t believe in Jesus, but I do believe that there has to be some sort of higher power – I call this entity God – because everything is just too beautiful and too amazing to be an accident. I do a lot of self-reflection and meditation and would love to start incorporating yoga into my practice this coming year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much. Yes this is personal but I felt like I needed to share it before I shared any more spiritual things on this blog…like people have been asking me to.

      Like

  2. I’m an atheist so I can’t comment directly on your belief in a deity nor would I want to do so. In my mind and my heart, I’m glad you found something that helps guide you in life and increases your happiness. It doesn’t make one iota of difference if I believe in it. You believe in it and it’s doing good things for you. Excellent post and I wish you the most happiness you can get. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Joe…thank you for your comment. I’ve never had an atheist on my blog before. I admire all beliefs. To me what you believe is a personal choice and people shouldn’t tell you how or what to believe. I have atheist friends and I don’t treat them any different than my christian friends. It’s a personal thing within you and that’s how I feel about that. Sorry it took a day or two to respond…but it caught me off guard just wanted to collect my thoughts before I responded to you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not a religious person but I’m definitely spiritual and truly believe in Karma. Given the recent turn of events, worldwide, taking a moment to think about what really matters to you and following your heart is the best resolution I couldve made 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s very cool too and exploring what you believe is never a bad thing. Actually I tell people to do it because it really helps you understand more about yourself and more about what makes sense to you as a person.

      Like

Leave a Reply

