Chase after Progress…Not just Success

Hello my sweet sweet friends. I have so much to post about, and so much on my heart, but for the sake of this blog post, we are going to talk about progress and success.  How many of you strive on success?  How many of you work all the time, and always hear, “you work too much.”?  How many of you love money?  Well in order to have money, you need to be successful right?  No…that’s not necessarily true.  How many of you are truly happy with the success you have made? What would happen if you chased after progress instead of success?  Would you still be as happy?  Would you know the difference?  These are questions that I want you to think about as you read this post because you can have all the success in the world, but if you don’t see any progress…was it worth it?  If you  are not even happy…was it all worth it?

Continue Reading if you are interested in my thoughts

chase-progress-1

Self development is about seeing the progress that you have made… right?  What if your self development is learning to save money so that you are not overwhelmed all the time?  What if your self development is getting a good job, climbing the ladder until you are at the top?  No matter what your self development process is, no matter what you want to accomplish, you should see progress.  Maybe you want to lose weight, maybe to you that will be a success…well in order to do that, you have to do all that is required and you need to keep track of your progress because you want to see progress.  You can be as successful as you want, but if you don’t see progress in it, what was the point?  My point to all these questions is that you want to chase after progress and not just success.  I say this because progress can be measured, can be seen, improved…but success…money, can not really be improved.  Yea you could have all the money in world, but is your mind on the right track….have you seen any improvement in anything?  Maybe your self development is improving your marriage, but you are so caught up in your job and earning money to get that bonus, that you neglect your marriage…was all the money worth it in the end?  Is your marriage any better?

I know this seems all over the place but if you can try and follow along, understand, that progress over success is… in my opinion… is so much better.  It truly can make you happy…unlike success…can still leave you empty.  You don’t want to feel empty in the end, you want to feel like you have accomplished something and you want to really feel like your life is all that you have dreamed of. Let’s chase progress, not just success.

Question of the day:

If you understand this post…great…but if you did understand it…let me know your thoughts on whether you think that chasing progress is just as important as chasing success, not as important, or you feel like it should be a balance?  Everything I write is my opinion, feel free to share your own thoughts on what I talked about.  I read all the comments and I reply to everyone.  Til next time 🙂

Note:

If you feel you need to speak to me but not comment…email me at: marvinam16@yahoo.com

17 thoughts on “Chase after Progress…Not just Success

  1. I agree. Chasing progress is as important if not more important then chasing success. Like you said, success can still leave you empty. You need to be chasing something that makes you truly happy. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I never really thought about this before. I guess I always chase success not progress. But I feel like I would feel better about what I am doing if I chase progress. I feel like I would think I was more successful that way.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just said something about this in my year end review. I was changing my goals from something that I had to complete during the year to something that I had to make progress towards during the year. Great minds think alike!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with you about chasing progress over success. Progress for me means developing habits and routines so I can reach my end goal. It’s funny that I read this today because I’m working on several goals right now and I decided a couple of months ago to keep a little journal of my progress along the way, what’s working, what’s not. Today I pulled my journal out and wrote in it again. I keep it really simple, I write in it every month and there’s no trashing myself. It’s great to look back and see how a project began and where I am now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s great. I love how you dont allow yourself to trash yourself. This is a great exercise because I think atleast for me, we get caught up in being perfect, being the perfect mother, the perfect wife or girlfriend, the perfect friend, daughter, granddaughter, etc…we don’t want to disappoint anyone, but when we do that, it can leave us feeling like we are not good enough, and therefore can lead us to trashing ourselves and making ourselves feel like we just are not good enough. We are good enough and we all need to know that and remember that. Keeping a journal is a great thing…and that really gave me an idea for a post, so thank you. This was very inspiring. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

