Disconnect to Connect

Hello my sweet sweet friends.  How are all of you?  I’m doing pretty good myself. How many of you feel like you don’t have time to spend with your significant other?  How many of you keep hearing “I need you to spend time with me, why don’t you get off  your phone and spend time with me, if you don’t start putting me as a priority, this relationship is over?”  I know I have, and I’m telling you, it’s not a great thing to hear. Recently my relationship has been so much better, and I’m going to share with you some ways and tips on how you can make yours better as well.

If you want to learn more….continue reading…..

disconnect

  1. Get off your PHONE!!!  This is a big one for so many people.  Most people have a phone and most people are on their phone from the time they get up in the morning, to the time they go to bed…this was me…and when I realized how much it was hurting my family, I changed.  Now when I have the time to spend with my husband or my family, I put my phone on airplane mode, I turn it off or I put it in another room…this way I’m not tempted to look at it, and no one can contact me in that amount of time.  Your relationships are important, and  you have to be willing to do something about it.

  2. Go for a walk.  You have no idea how much just going for a walk with your significant other or your family can really help you connect with them.  The fresh air, the closeness, just helps you bond and spend the time together.  If you do have to take your phone, just play music…that’s all you need…you don’t need to text people or to call people, just play music and enjoy your family.

  3. Take time and talk.  You may not think this changes things, but it really can.  One night, I just talked to my spouse about everything.  We talked about what we wanted to do with our finances, where we wanted to be in 5 years, how we could connect with each other, etc.  It helped us grow closer together and figure out what we want for our family.  We talked about our fears, and accomplishments, and everything…so talk things out.

So knowing all of that, I just want to help you realize that if you disconnect from the distractions and the technology, you can connect with the people who are important to you on a deeper level.  You can really build that relationship that maybe you never had before. This all has to do with mindfulness and self reflection and awareness.  You may not think that this has anything to do with mindfulness or even awareness…but when your relationship starts to change because you are taking the time to make it change, then you will see the awareness that I’m talking about.

Challenge for this week:

This week, anyone who comments, I want you to take one day and disconnect with whatever is taking up your time with your family, in order to connect with them on a deeper level.  This could be…turning off  your phone for an hour to spend time with your children, this could be turning off the television to spend quality time with your spouse or turning off your phone for your spouse, if that is what takes up your time…whatever it is..take one day and disconnect from it and connect with your family.  I’m telling you…it makes a huge difference.

10 thoughts on “Disconnect to Connect

    • Lol…ya that is as hard one, but if you model it for your children, then they will follow suit. I know for our family, my son loves thomas the train, and we would let him watch it all the time on my IPAD, but we started to notice that is all he wanted to do, so for the past 6 months, he has not been allowed to have my ipad, and when he wants to watch a movie, he can watch it after dinner. It’s been an amazing change and he doesn’t even ask for it anymore. He plays with his toys and goes outside…it’s just something we thought we needed to do, and we did it.

      Like

  1. I agree with you. I need to constantly remind myself to get off from my phone when I am with my daughter so that I can be more present with her. The same with my husband too. Thank you for such a lovely post. It’s a timely reminder for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was told that if something is bothering me about how maybe a spouse does something or deals with something, I shouldn’t judge, but should try to see the situation from his point of view or discuss why he handled something a certain way. Another way to connect.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That also can work. I think when you try to see from someone else’s point of view, you can start to see things differently. I don’t think people should judge others, especially because people have their own way of doing things…so when I write these posts, I’m not judging anyone, I’m just saying my point of view. If you have another point of view on the topic, please share, I’m really young, so I don’t know everything and it’s always nice to see what others are thinking and how they deal with different situations and topics. 🙂 Great comment 🙂

      Like

    • Yes I feel that counts. It can be really hard, especially if you need your phone work or you work from home and you need your computer…but I also feel that you can take like 30-40 minutes maybe even hour to just be present with yourself or your family. so I think weekends counts 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

