Take Time To Be Grateful

Hi everyone and welcome back to another post.  How many of you take time to be grateful?  How many of you thank the universe, God, anyone… that you are still on this earth, that the grass is green, or that your children are healthy, etc?  Well, this is something I never used to do, until recently.  

Sometimes I forget to be grateful for different things.  I get so worked up in being perfect, or having everything be perfect, that I miss the fact that there are a lot of things to be grateful for.  Something that I have recently started is a prayer/gratitude journal.  This has helped so much in making sure that I appreciate the people in my life, the things I do, the places I see, the journey that God has put me on, and more. So how do I do this?

Today

How do I do this:

First I take out my devotional (Jesus Calling by Sarah Young) and I read the day’s passage.  I then take out my journal and I put the day up at the top,  and write my prayer to God.  I normally start off with “Dear God” and write; but that is a different topic…anyway on the back of the page, I take a sticky note and I write :Today I’m grateful for:  I write 1-3 things that I am grateful for that day.  This could be what happened the day before, what happened that night, the sky being blue, my child’s health…pretty much anything.  Why do I do this?

Why I do this:

Often times I feel we forget about things in our life.  We get caught up in family, friends, work, school, parenting, etc, that we forget about the things that we should be grateful for.  We should be thankful that we are alive or that we have a bed.  Writing down what I’m grateful for puts my mind into perspective that not everyone is as blessed as I am, that there are worse things out there then losing a friend, or having someone die, or failing that college exam that could get us in to a specific graduate school.  And I think we lose sight of it, so by writing what we are grateful for, we are being grounded and forced to see the good in any situation, whether bad or good; and I think that it’s amazing when you can see that.

Challenge for everyone:

So I want to challenge you all to find atleast 1 thing in each day  or each week that you can be grateful for and write it down…appreciate it and remember that there is always someone in the world who is going through something so much worse than you…there are always people who are not as fortunate as you are.

Ok that is all for today…hope you all have a wonderful day 🙂

8 thoughts on “Take Time To Be Grateful

Leave a Reply

