5 Reasons Why Self Improvement Starts with Self Reflection

Hello my sweet sweet friends.  As some of you may know…I’ve been going through a self reflection self awareness journey these past 2 years. I will briefly describe why for those who don’t know.  A few years ago, I was having a rough time.  I lost one of my best friends ( no he didn’t die) our friendship of 8 years ended, I was having some relationship issues and to add to it, my anxiety was really bad.  I knew I needed to do something but I didn’t know what would make me happy, so I finally decided I needed to just reflect on my life and make that change.  

 

This has helped me so much and I have to say that as of today July 8, 2017, I’m pretty happy with who I have become…I have some amazing friends, my relationship is pretty good and things are pretty good even through the rough times.  I feel that self improvement has to start with self reflection and here’s 5 reasons  why.

Self ImprovementStarts with Self Reflection

5 Reasons:

  1. It makes or requires you to dig deep into your feelings.

    This may be hard for people and I know it was hard for me for awhile.  But after I really dug down deep and thought about why I was so unhappy, I could see that there were things in my life that just needed to be different.  I needed myself to be good, before I could have everyone else in my life be ok.

  2. Admit you are not perfect.

     You are not perfect.  And that is something you need to admit to yourself.  When I was having that rough time, I was trying to be perfect in all of my relationships and it ended up being a disaster, so admit.  Admitting things about yourself is NOT A WEAKNESS.  I feel that it’s a strength because you are brave enough to admit that there are things that are not great traits or qualities of yourself and you want to improve that.

  3. You can not do everything.

    There are only 24 hours in a day.  Ok…everyone in the world only has 24 hours in a day which means that you can not do everything. Something I had to admit that in order to be happy, I had to realize that I’m not superwoman all of the time.  I can only do what I can do in that day and I need to be happy with that.  If my friend asks me to text her, but I have a busy day, and I don’t get to text her, it’s ok (if she’s a good friend) because the next day you can do that.  So don’t beat yourself up over things you don’t get to.  Appreciate what you do get to and be happy.  You will get to it the next day I promise.

  4. You do not need to fix every problem.

    Wow…this is something I had such a hard time doing.  I got my BA in Psychology and I’m always trying to fix problems (even to this day) but what self reflection has taught me is that it’s alright to just listen to someone and not try to fix their issues.  Sometimes  your friends just want a shoulder to cry on or an ear to listen, they don’t want you to fix it or want to know your ideas on how to fix their problem.

  5. Understand, that in order to make a change…it starts with YOU.

    If you want a change, then you need to actually make the changes.  Figure out what you want to change and figure out the steps to change it.  So for me, I had to admit, acknowledge and accept that the friendship was over, and that the 8 years we were friends was great but now it’s time for me to make new friends and embrace that change. Number 2:  I had to fix my relationship… which again started with me and number three, I needed to find ways to deal or calm my anxiety.

So there you have the 5 reasons.  I hope this made you think about yourself a little bit more especially if there is something you need to change in yourself or in your life.  

 

Thank you for reading and if you would like to follow me on any other forms of social media you can do so right under the search bar on this blog. If you like this blog in general and you would like to know when I have a new post, please feel free to follow this blog via email at the bottom and share with your friends and family.  Also be sure to check out my latest article by clicking the link below 🙂  Have a fantastic day! 🙂

Are You In Your Right Mind?

 

Question:

In the comments below, let me know your thoughts on this subject.  Do you feel that it is necessary to reflect on yourself or your life in order to see improvement?  What area of your life would you want to see improvement in?  Have  you ever needed to take a step back in order to realize that an area of yourself or your life needed to be changed?

small changes

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why Self Improvement Starts with Self Reflection

    • Great idea. Sometimes we just need to sit down and think about the good that has happened so that we are not just focusing on the bad things…you know..I think it makes life easier and more enjoyable to go through. 🙂

      Like

    • Yes we do. By the way, I’m glad you said that…have you ever read “Grace, Not Perfection” by Emily Ley? I’m currently reading it and it’s helped me a lot in this area. I think it could help you too and I think you would like it, if you haven’t read it yet. 🙂

      Like

  1. Pingback: 5 Alternatives to Meditation | It Is Well...With My Soul

Leave a Reply

